Chipper Jones expects “some dumb (bleep)” to leave Maddux off his Hall of Fame ballot

61 Comments

Chipper Jones, who said virtually nothing interesting for the bulk of his playing career, continues to show us that there was some personality underneath all those “yes sirs” and “no sirs”:

 

He’s right of course. Unfortunately, this year, the idiots who don’t think Greg Maddux deserves to be a first-ballot inductee have plausible deniability. Because the ballot is so stocked with worthy candidates, and because Maddux is a shoe-in for induction, there will likely be several people leaving Maddux off for strategic purposes. Specifically, to throw votes to guys who may be at risk of falling below 5% and thus off the ballot. I personally wouldn’t vote that way. Such game theory usually requires others to act rationally in order to be effective and, if we’ve learned anything about the Hall of Fame electorate, it’s a pretty non-rational group of folks. But such a non-vote for Maddux is defensible.

But, unfortunately, it also prevents us from knowing which voters left Maddux off because they believe no one should be a first-ballot inductee if some old timer they liked wasn’t. Which happens every single year.

Video: Albert Almora, Jr. saved by the ivy

Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The ALCS had a weird play in Game 4 on Tuesday night, but Game 4 of the NLCS did as well. This one involved Cubs outfielder Albert Almora, Jr. and his attempt to spark a rally in the bottom of the ninth inning against Dodgers reliever Ross Stripling.

After Alex Avila singled, Almora ripped a double to left field, past a diving Enrique Hernandez. The ball rolled to the ivy in front of the wall. Most outfielders there would’ve put their hands up, which would have alerted the umpires to call an immediate ground-rule double. Hernandez didn’t, instead fishing the ball out and firing it back into the infield. Avila had stopped at third base, but Almora kept running. Much to his surprise, he pulled up into third base to see his teammate standing there, resigned to his fate as a dead duck. Third baseman Justin Turner applied the tag on Almora for what he thought was the first out of the inning.

Almora, however, was then sent back to second base after the umpires correctly called a ground-rule double.

Unfortunately for the Cubs, the lucky break didn’t help as closer Kenley Jansen came in and took care of business, retiring all three batters he faced without letting an inherited runner score. The Dodgers won 6-1 and now lead the NLCS three games to none. They’ll try to punch their ticket to the World Series on Wednesday.