Carlos Quentin undergoes second knee surgery in the past seven months

1 Comment

Bill Center of the San Diego Union-Tribune reports that Carlos Quentin underwent arthroscopic surgery on his right knee yesterday.

This is the same knee that Quentin had surgery on back in March and caused him to miss the first 49 games of the season. He ended up hitting .261/.374/.504 with 16 home runs, 46 RBI and an .877 OPS in 340 plate appearances, but didn’t start 22 out of the final 26 games of the season due to continued pain in the knee.

The good news is that Quentin will be able to participate in offseason workouts and should be ready for the start of spring training, but his injury history is reason for concern. He signed a three-year, $27 million extension with the Padres in July which will pay him $9.5 million in each of the next two seasons and $8 million in 2015. He’ll get at least a $3 million buyout on a $10 million mutual option for 2016 if he plays 320 games over the next three years. Quentin turned 30 years old in August and has never played more than 131 games in a season, so the Padres may not have to worry about that.

Video: Albert Almora, Jr. saved by the ivy

Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The ALCS had a weird play in Game 4 on Tuesday night, but Game 4 of the NLCS did as well. This one involved Cubs outfielder Albert Almora, Jr. and his attempt to spark a rally in the bottom of the ninth inning against Dodgers reliever Ross Stripling.

After Alex Avila singled, Almora ripped a double to left field, past a diving Enrique Hernandez. The ball rolled to the ivy in front of the wall. Most outfielders there would’ve put their hands up, which would have alerted the umpires to call an immediate ground-rule double. Hernandez didn’t, instead fishing the ball out and firing it back into the infield. Avila had stopped at third base, but Almora kept running. Much to his surprise, he pulled up into third base to see his teammate standing there, resigned to his fate as a dead duck. Third baseman Justin Turner applied the tag on Almora for what he thought was the first out of the inning.

Almora, however, was then sent back to second base after the umpires correctly called a ground-rule double.

Unfortunately for the Cubs, the lucky break didn’t help as closer Kenley Jansen came in and took care of business, retiring all three batters he faced without letting an inherited runner score. The Dodgers won 6-1 and now lead the NLCS three games to none. They’ll try to punch their ticket to the World Series on Wednesday.