A.J. Pierzynski scores on fielder’s indifference… wait, what?

10 Comments

That’s the way Yahoo! wrote it up, obviously not knowing how else to describe it. The way I see it, A.J. Pierzynski was heads up, while the A’s had their heads up their you know whats.

In the seventh inning Sunday of the game between the White Sox and A’s, Alexei Ramirez hit a grounder to short with Pierzynski on first and none out. Third baseman Adam Rosales and shortstop Cliff Pennington came together on the play, but a major collision was avoided and Pennington still managed to throw out Ramirez at first.

What happened afterwards was pure Little League. Pierzynski noticed no one was covering third and took the base. And then he noticed no one was covering home after catcher Derek Norris followed the play to first base. First baseman Chris Carter had his head down and didn’t see it until too late, and though he tried to race Pierzynski to the plate, Pierzynski had too much of a head start.

Here’s the clip.

While there was plenty of blame to be spread around on the play, the majority of it needs to go to pitcher Evan Scribner, who was just standing around by the mound instead of backing up one of the bases. Norris, too, probably should have been able to make his way back home in the time that Pierzynski was advancing two bases. It was just a mess all around.

The Angels were the first team to use up all of their mound visits

Getty Images
1 Comment

Last night’s Angels-Astros game was a long affair with a bunch of homers and the use of 11 pitchers in all. The Angels used six pitchers and all of that business led to plenty of conferences. Six, in fact, which is their allotment under the new rule capping mound visits. As far as I can tell, that makes the Angels the first team to use up all of their mound visits since the advent of the rule.

Sadly, they did not try to go for a seventh, thereby testing the currently unknown limits of the rule. Umpires have been instructed to not allow additional mound visits, but they cannot issue balls or tackle anyone or anything to enforce it. Presumably, if Maldonado had walked out to talk to Cam Bedrosian about the weather or where he was going to dinner after the game, the home plate umpire would’ve simply done the old Robin Williams English policeman’s bit of yelling “Stop! . . . or I shall yell ‘Stop!’ again!” Maybe a fine would issue later, but we’ll never know.

At least until someone breaks the limit. And we know someone will, right? We should have a betting pool on who does it.