Amanda Comak of the Washington Times passes along the following update on the status of injured Nationals right-hander Chien-Ming Wang:
Wang, who gave up six earned runs off seven hits and two walks in Tuesday night in Double-A, had a recurrence of the hip soreness that landed him on the disabled list on July 3, a team spokesman said.
The 32-year-old right-hander has been taken off his minor league rehab assignment and shut down indefinitely, making it highly unlikely that he’ll be cleared to return from the disabled list before rosters expand in September. And if Wang is not able to progress quickly from this recent run of hip discomfort, it’s possible that we won’t see him again this season.
Wang has tossed just 80 innings — to the tune of a 5.02 ERA — since signing with the Nationals in 2010.
Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.
Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.
Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.
This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.
As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.