Cameron Maybin hits the longest homer of 2012

9 Comments

Padres center fielder Cameron Maybin took Arizona’s Trevor Cahill way out of Chase Field on Monday night, hitting a 485-foot homer to left-center.

ESPN Stats & Info gives it a one-foot edge over Nelson Cruz’s homer on June 3 and four feet on Travis Hafner’s blast on April 15.

The homer was just Maybin’s fourth of the season and first since June 8, but it shows what kind of power he has if he can ever harness it. A big disappointment this year after a promising first season in San Diego, he entered Monday’s game batting .202/.281/.289 in 263 at-bats. In the hopes that simpler mechanics will lead to more contact, the Padres have had him rework his swing by dropping his leg kick.

Aaron Judge was involved in a weird play in the fourth inning

Abbie Parr/Getty Images
3 Comments

Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.

Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.

Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.

This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.

As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.