MLB overrules official scorer, gives Delmon Young error

35 Comments

Delmon Young’s hilarious defensive misplay last Friday was ruled a “triple” by the official scorer in Chicago despite the fact that he did a 360-degree spin going after a fly ball to left field … and then dropped it.

At the time I wondered what exactly the point was of even having “errors” if Young’s play wasn’t ruled as one. MLB apparently agreed, because Mark Gonzales of the Chicago Tribune reports that they’ve overruled the official scorer and changed it from a “triple” to an error.

And for anyone who missed the play the first time, here’s Delmon in all his outfielding glory:

Marlins sign Cameron Maybin

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Tim Healey of the South Florida Sun-Sentinel reports that the Marlins have signed free agent outfielder Cameron Maybin.

Maybin spent the 2017 season with the Angels and Astros, putting up a line of .228/.318/.365 in 450 plate appearances and appearing at least briefly in the World Series for Houston. That’s not the greatest batting line in the world, but he stole 33 bases in 114 games, so he has his value. Maybe more to fantasy players than a real baseball team, but the fact remains that if you don’t have three guys in the outfield, you’re gonna give up a lot of triples. Maybin will definitely be one of the guys in the outfield, at least part of the time.

This will be Maybin’s second tour of duty with the Marlins, having first come to them in 2007 in the famous — infamous, if you’re a Marlins fan — Miguel Cabrera trade. Maybin spent three seasons with the Marlins in that go-around.