Michael Pineda throws first bullpen session since going on disabled list

13 Comments

Marc Carig of the Newark Star-Ledger brings word that Michael Pineda threw his first bullpen session today since being placed on the disabled list prior to the season with right shoulder tendinitis.

Pineda threw 26 pitches without incident after which Yankees’ general manager Brian Cashman said it was “all good.”

No immediate word on how they’ll proceed, but Cashman previously told Andrew Marchand of ESPNNewYork.com that Pineda could throw in a minor league game as soon as this weekend. Still, he’ll likely require a lengthy rehab assignment and with Andy Pettitte on track to return to the majors next month, the Yankees shouldn’t have a huge sense of urgency to rush him back.

Aaron Judge was involved in a weird play in the fourth inning

Abbie Parr/Getty Images
3 Comments

Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.

Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.

Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.

This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.

As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.