Astros center fielder Michael Bourn has posted a cool .303/.363/.403 batting line this season while tallying 39 stolen bases in 46 tries. He’d make an excellent leadoff hitter on a number of contending teams. But the interest simply isn’t there.
According to FOX Sports’ Ken Rosenthal, “there is little momentum” right now for a Bourn trade.
The Nationals had interest, but they currently remain focused on landing Denard Span from the Twins. The Indians were also known to be intrigued by Bourn, but that was before they unloaded a couple of their top pitching prospects for Rockies ace Ubaldo Jimenez. Perhaps the Giants or Braves will step forward with a last-minute offer. As Rosenthal notes, news on deadline day is often fluid.
Bourn, 28, is earning $4.4 million this year via arbitration and is under team control in 2012.
Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.
Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.
Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.
This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.
As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.