Delmon Young’s error proves difference as Indians edge Twins 1-0

3 Comments

One of baseball’s worst fielders broke the stalemate in this one.

Delmon Young allowed Carlos Santana’s basehit to left field to start the fourth inning get past him in left field, and Santana went on to score from third on a groundout as the Indians topped the Twins 1-0 on Tuesday night.

The play was ruled a double and an error, allowing Santana to reach third.  Francisco Liriano, in his first start back from the DL, got a groundout, a lineout to short and a flyout from there, making the run unearned.

And it turned out to be the only run of the game, as Carlos Carrasco pitched 8 1/3 innings for the Indians and combined with closer Chris Perez on a three-hit shutout.

The Twins gave up just four hits.  Liriano struck out seven over five innings in his return.  Chuck James and Phil Dumatrait finished up from there.

Young apologized to Liriano for the error after the inning, but it was partly an effort play and his effort just isn’t there on the defensive end.  Throw in that he’s hitting .225 with one homer in 152 at-bats and he’s been about as big of a liability as anyone in baseball.

Aaron Judge was involved in a weird play in the fourth inning

Abbie Parr/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.

Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.

Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.

This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.

As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.